Thursday, November 5, 2009

Colleges: Thompson leads Spartans on SSC First Team

The University of Tampa’s Ryan Thompson was named the Sunshine State Conference Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, and was one of four Spartans named to the SSC All-Conference First Team on Thursday afternoon.

Joining Thompson on the first team were forward Pascal Milien, midfielder Lister Warren and defender Dan Ingvarsson as the Spartans had the largest contingent of any school on the first team. Midfielder Ryan Griffin, forward Greg O’Connor and defender Kyle Williams were also named to the second team.

Eckerd’s Luke Sheekey was named to the first team, while Saint Leo’s Jonathan Glenn earned second team honors.

On the women’s side, Saint Leo’s Hannah Beard and Sara Macko were both named to the All-Conference first team, while the Lions’ Francesca Williams and Dari Alcantara were named to the second team and Pia Soesemann was an honorable mention.

No comments:

Post a Comment